Writing For The King (FTD) Book & CD - Front Cover

Writing For The King showcases 142 interviews with songwriters whose work was recorded by Elvis Presley. Learn the stories behind hundreds of Elvis classics in this definitive study of the songs that shook the world. Handwritten lyrics, rare photographs, documents, and vintage memorabilia augment this compelling look at Elvis' extraordinary musical legacy.

The book also comes complete with two CDs- one comprising Elvis live recordings from Las Vegas and the other featuring songwriter demos, further illuminating the work of the most influential musical artist of all time.
Track Listing:

Disc 1 The Recordings - Elvis Presley
August, 1969

1. Blue Suede Shoes (24th/M) 2:51 (Carl Perkins)
2. I Got a Woman (24th/M) 2:36 (Ray Charles)
3. All Shook Up (24th/M) 3:06 (Blackwell/Presley)
4. Love Me Tender (24th/M) 2:46 (Matson/Presley)
5. Jailhouse Rock / Don't Be Cruel (24th/M) 2:38 (Leiber/Stoller) / (Blackwell/Presley)
6. Heartbreak Hotel (24th/M) 4:05 (Axton/Durden/Presley)
7. Hound Dog (24th/M) 1:26 (Leiber/Stoller)
8. Words (25th/D) 2:41 (Barry, Maurice & Robin Gibb)
9. Yesterday/Hey Jude (25th/D) 4:34 (Lennon/McCartney)
10. In the Ghetto (25th/M) 2:43 (Mac Davis)

February, 1970
11. Don't Cry Daddy (16th/D) 2:50 (Mac Davis)
12. Polk Salad Annie (16th/D) 5:38 (Tony Joe White)
13. Kentucky Rain (17th/D) 3:16 (Rabbitt/Heard)
14. Walk a Mile in My Shoes (16th/D) 2:50 (Joe South)

August, 1970
15. Something (11th/D) 4:45 (George Harrison)
16. You've Lost that Lovin' Feelin' (11th/D) 4.45 (Mann/Weil)
17. I Just Can't Help Believin' (13th/D) 3:13 (Mann/Weil)

February, 1972
18. Never Been to Spain (14th/M) 3:30 (Hoyt Axton)
19. Love Me (14th/M) 1:55 (Leiber/Stoller)
20. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel (14th/M) 1:52 (Mann/Lowe) / (Blackwell/Presley)
21. A Big Hunk o' Love (14th/M) 2:04 (Schroeder/Wyche)

August, 1969
22. Suspicious Minds (24th/M) 6:56 (Mark James)
23. Can't Help Falling in Love (24th/M) 2:09 (Peretti/Creatore/Weiss)

M = Midnight Show
D = Dinner Show
Recorded live at The International Hotel, later renamed The Las Vegas Hilton.

Disc 2 - The Demos – Various Artists
1. Heartbreak Hotel (Axton/Durden/Presley)
Singer: Glenn Reeves
2. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear (Kal Mann/Bernie Lowe)
Singer: Otis Blackwell
3. Don't Ask Me Why (Fred Wise/Ben Weisman)
Singer: Jimmy Breedlove
4. Hard Headed Woman (Claude DeMetrius)
Singer: Jimmy Breedlove
5. Trouble (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
Singer: Unknown
6. Wear My Ring around Your Neck (Bert Carroll/Russell Moody)
Singer: Gus Coletti
7. Pocketful of Rainbows (Fred Wise/Ben Weisman)
Singer: Jimmy Breedlove
8. No More (Don Robertson/Hal Blair)
Singer: Don Robertson
9. (Marie's the Name of) His Latest Flame (Doc Pomus/Mort Shuman)
Singer: Mort Shuman
10. Good Luck Charm (Aaron Schroeder/Wally Gold)
Singer: Robert Moseley
11. Devil in Disguise (Bill Giant/Bernie Baum/Florence Kaye)
Singer: Bill Giant
12. Viva Las Vegas (Doc Pomus/Mort Shuman)
Singer: Mort Shuman
13. C'Mon Everybody (Joy Byers)
Singer: Bob Johnston
14. Kissin' Cousins (Fred Wise/Randy Starr)
Singer: Malcolm Dodd
15. My Desert Serenade (Stanley Gelber)
Singer: Kenny Karen
16. Could I Fall in Love (Randy Starr)
Singer: Malcolm Dodd
17. The Love Machine (G. Nelson/F. Burch/C. Taylor)
Singer: Gerald Nelson
18. Clambake – alternate song (Winfield Scott)
Singer: Winfield Scott
19. Wearin' That Loved-on Look (Dallas Frazier/A. L. Owens)
Singer: Dallas Frazier
20. I've Lost You (Howard/Blaikley)
Singer: Peter Lee Sterling
21. The Next Step is Love (Evans/Parnes)
Singer: Paul Evans
22. Mary in the Morning (Cymbal/Rashkow)
Singer: Johnny Cymbal
23. Burning Love (Dennis Linde)
Singer: Dennis Linde
24. T-R-O-U-B-L-E (Jerry Chesnut)
Singer: Jerry Chesnut
25. Raised on Rock (Mark James)
Singer: Mark James
26. Way Down (Layng Martine Jr.)
Singer: Layng Martine Jr.

Made in EU