TWO new Elvis Presley bootleg albums will be available in selected British shops in January. The first has arrived in this country from Germany – titled “Elvis Presley ... Sun Days” it includes many previously unreleased items which Elvis cut during his brief spell with Sun Records in Memphis, before RCA bought his contract. The second new pirate LP has been imported from France and is called “The Hillbilly Cat 1971 City Tours – Volume 1.” Selling price of these discs is expected to be between £4 and £5 each.

The Sun collection includes The Old Rugged Cross, I Won’t Have To Cross Jordan Alone, Island Of Golden Dreams (which features Elvis plus Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins), Gone, Uncle Penn, Blue Guitar and My Baby Is Gone.

The “Hillbilly” set opens with the “2001 Space Odyssey” theme, which introduced each of Presley’s recent concerts, then come three Beatles compositions – Something, Get Back and Hey Jude. Other tracks include Help Me Make It Through The Night, The Impossible Dream, Sweet Inspiration, Long Tall Sally, Memphis Tennessee, Oh Happy Day, Little Sister, It’s Over, I Walk The Line, Fulsom Prison Blues, I Got A Woman, Hound Dog, Proud Mary and When The Snow Is On The Roses. An interesting feature is that, in “I Walk The Line” and “Fulsom Prison Blues” Elvis introduces himself as Johnny Cash and then proceeds to imitate him!

Two more Elvis Presley pirate albums from France are expected in 1972, with a possible further three from Germany.

NME, 1 January 1972